Please note for the Month of January Twin Lights will be closed Mon-Fri, the grounds are open 7 days a week.
Situated 200 feet above sea level atop the Navesink Highlands, Twin Lights has stood as a
sentinel over the treacherous coastal waters of northern New Jersey since 1828. Named
Navesink Lightstation, it became known as the "Twin Lights of Highlands" to those who used its
mighty beacons to navigate. As the primary seacoast light for The Highlands, New York Harbor, it was the best and brightest light in North America for generations of seafarers. Many a life and cargo were saved
by the sweep of its light.
The current lighthouse, built in 1862 of local brownstone at a cost of $74,000, replaced the earlier buildings that had fallen into disrepair. Architect Joseph Lederle designed the new lighthouse with two non-identical towers linked by keepers' quarters and storage rooms. This unique design made it easy to distinguish
Twin Lights from other nearby lighthouses. At night, the two beacons, one flashing and the other fixed, provided another distinguishing characteristic.